2017 pt. II

Hi. Hello. Happy New Year as well!

tumblr_inline_nbahviK6Jl1snulowRegardless of having no actual obligations to post anything specific to this blog, because Whitney did a 2017 goals of sorts post, I feel ever so inclined to partake as well. Spoiler alert: I am terrible at sticking to any resolutions or goals (I typically do birthday resolutions) primarily because my priorities are constantly changing. I appreciate Whitney’s interpretation of me somehow keeping this blog “Active” even though I would hardly consider my postings active at all… more so few and far between. What can I say, life decided to life at me.

I spent the better part of 2016 going out, hanging out, staying out til the sun came up, and to put it quite frankly: getting drunk. I had never really partied much before and I finally decided to get that need to have fun out of my system and by September I decided I was ready to grow up and put my degree to use. I made applying for jobs in the legal field my priority. I was not going to get stuck in the serving cycle of not leaving because the money was too good to give up. God blessed me with two interviews for the three firms I submitted resumes to and I got the job at the second interview. This all took place over the course of a couple weeks and by October I was getting settled into an office. So now, with that taken care of, I feel as though setting some basic goals for this coming year is much more achievable.

Here we go… Like Whitney said. I may or may not achieve these.
(I’m okay with that.)

  1. Continue to learn as much as possible at my job to strengthen my resume.
  2. Continue to work towards (and maybe even obtain??) moving out on my own.
  3. Ride my new bicycle as regularly as possible.
  4. Clean out those clothes I hold on to hoping I’ll one day wear again when they aren’t even age appropriate anymore.
  5. Stop worrying so much what other people think about me.
  6. (I’m stealing one of Whitney’s and putting it in quotes because plagiarism scares me. Sorry!) “more self love, less self hate”
  7. Cut back to only 2 alarms instead of 3 in the morning.

Personally, I feel people tend to set unrealistic expectations with New Years Resolutions and then they beat themselves up for not obtaining them, or breaking them early on. I’m gonna work on this all year. Come December 31st I might realized I completely forgot about some of them, but hey, life isn’t over. I’m gonna keep focusing on my priorities as they adapt to where I’m at in life. The important part is to be happy with where you are, not with where you’ve been.

 

Peace and blessings.

alex

Leave a Reply

