Wait It’s Christmas Already?!

tumblr_inline_nyihtj1jWr1t78dpp_500On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me… nothing… because I’m single and don’t have a true love and if I weren’t I probably gave them no indication of what I want for Christmas. Bet I’m not alone here, either. It’s tricky being in your mid twenties with friends constantly texting you asking what you want for Christmas this year. You tell them you’ll give it some thought. Before you know it, a couple months have passed, you haven’t gotten back to them, and you realize wow when life is in limbo you don’t give much thought to what you want other people to buy you. If you are anything like me, which I know a lot of you will fall under this category. Asking people for gifts is incredibly awkward. I am always eternally thankful and full of blessed feelings whenever anyone buys or makes me a present, small or large, but there will always be a part of me that has a twinge of guilt because maybe I didn’t get them something or maybe I feel their gift is more extravagant even if it isn’t really. Or sometimes I’m just aware of their financial status at the moment and feel bad that they spent money on me even though they wanted to and I do the same as well. I love giving gifts, and I do love receiving them, I’m just incredibly awkward at the latter task. So here we go. A simple guide to buying gifts for someone in their mid-twenties–more specifically someone with similar interests and likes to me.

  1. Art – I love art, even though being in limbo means most of it goes undisplayed in a closet downstairs or leaned up against my walls around my room until I’m allowed to hang things up again. The cool part about buying or making art for someone like me, it doesn’t have to be expensive. There are artists I will pretty much love anything by (See: mabgraves or any print you can find by Dali) but I also like being exposed to anything aesthetically intriguing or pleasing. One of the coolest ways to buy art for an art lover while on a budget is going to thrift stores. You can find killer deals on beautiful pieces that are already framed!

  2. Cactus Anything – Okay this is totally me specific, so replace this title to make it applicable to others with “niche interest”. If you’ve met me, you know I love cactus ANYTHING. My room is full of clothing, plushes, figurines, art, and even salt and pepper shakers that are cactuses. Find your friends version of cactus in their life and you run with that.

  3. Music – Similarly to the art section up there (wow, because you know, music is art too so that makes sense… anyways) I love when people buy me music. I have a baby vinyl collection I started two years ago and love to see it flourish and grow. Best part about buying music for someone, most people are rather open to being exposed to something new. Even better part? Old used vinyl is far better quality than new presses (okay this is depending really on specifically when the pressing took place) and you can typically get used vinyl and thrift shops or record shops for quite the steal! If you are looking to spend good money on a significant other potentially, vnyl is a great monthly subscription box for someone looking to kickstart a vinyl collection. I sadly had to “pause” mine for a multitude of reasons.

  4. Clothes – Alright, remember when we were little and clothes were the drag gift that came with all the siq kewl toyz Santa brought you? Not so much anymore. It is the most practical gift and the struggle is real so none of us like spending money on clothes despite needing or wanting new clothes. Just make sure you either know the person’s sizes or keep that receipt since no store seems to be universal with the fit.

  5. Beauty/Spa Products – Lush literally ANYTHING will make pretty much any girl happy and even a large amount of guys happy because boy do you feel pampered whenever you use any of their products. However, another great gift is always buying some form of face masks or scrubs. Similarly to the music section, buying a significant other a subscription for a certain amount of time for the multitude of beauty boxes/skin care boxes is always a great way to express serious gratitude for their existence.

  6. DIY – I somehow missed the memo in regards to me vs pretty much all of my friends where I have little to none crafting skills of any sorts, but all of my friends are so talented whether it be knitting/crocheting (*cough* my co-owner and best friend), painting, baking, etc. So, personally, I LOVE when any of my friends gifts me something that is handmade.

  7. Books – I usually suggest people check with me before buying a book, just because I do own a lot of books and would hate for you to spend money on something I already own, however when it comes to reading, it is kind of like music and art–I’m always excited for new options!

Maybe this helps, maybe it doesn’t. What is important to remember with this upcoming gift giving holiday season (Christmas for me in this case) is that the actual present really isn’t what matters. Not at all. There doesn’t even need to be a present. It’s about spending time with loved ones (family and/or friends who are like family) and being joyous. If a gift is involved and it isn’t something you necessarily wanted or even like, who cares? Someone thought about you and loved you enough to get you something. Be gracious this season. Remember you are blessed. And always say thank you. Have a cozy holiday season for those who have a real winter, and for those Floridians out there, wow let’s hope we get some more cold fronts amiright?

Peace and blessings.

alex

Leave a Reply

