369 Days Later… What?

plantI graduated college exactly one year and four days ago (depending on when you read this). That’s approximately 369 days (again, depending on when you read this). With this full trip around the sun completed, I have had a lot of time to reflect on the comparison of then and now. When I walked across the stage in Alico Arena, I was so sure I knew what I would be doing a year from now. I was going to be working as a paralegal at a local law firm in my hometown awaiting the scores of my second LSAT to figure out which of the two scores were better. I was going to be working on finishing up my personal statements and applying to my list of five law schools I had perfected. Where am I now? I haven’t taken the LSAT once, but not because I’m putting it off, I decided I don’t want to go to law school. This also means there is no personal statement to be worked on and there definitely are no law school applications being filled out. As for the job as a paralegal? I’m unemployed but working (and struggling) on trying to get my mortgage license.

DSC_1436 a
Here’s a gratuitous candid photo of me walking into my commencement ceremony

You might be sitting there reading this feeling like you should pity me because I must be so lost or so disappointed that my life hasn’t even remotely ended up as I had planned a year ago. Don’t. I’m happy. In the past year, while I’m still living with my parents and I’ve ended up losing my job as a server during the time of year it is hard to find a new one, and I completely derailed from my career goals… I have grown so much as a person. On the outside surface level, it doesn’t seem like much has changed. But so much has. I have fallen in love with my hometown, I have made new friends and rekindled old friendships, I have found a potential new career path I feel confident about even if it is hard, and lastly, I am so happy I learned now rather than later that I don’t want to go to law school.

DSC_1470 a
Here’s my tribute to Elle Woods who I planned to follow in the footsteps of.

The point of all of this is, expectations and reality can be drastically different; this is completely okay. It’s been about 369 days and while it might not look like anything has changed, so much has. As a now twenty-three year old college graduate, for the first time in my life I have found my zen. I have taken up new hobbies. I have rekindled old hobbies. I’ve gone on dates, some I wish I hadn’t gone on. I have turned down dates because I’m an independent woman who isn’t afraid to not do something I don’t want to do. I’ve lost some weight. I’ve gained some back. I went to ALASKA.

The past 369 days have been spent reflecting on who I am as a person and what I stand for. It has been awesome. I feel like I know more about myself now than I ever have before. When you think about it, isn’t that more important than having a full track career at the young age of twenty-three?

Keep cozy my friends, and be okay with where you are in life or where you might not be just yet.

alex

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

