The Five Must Haves for Your Bookshelf

tumblr_inline_n094767kHc1qid2nwI love to read. A self-proclaimed bibliophile if you must. I even have an Instagram account solely dedicated to my bookish ways (@lexislibrary). While over half of my books are actually packed up and tucked away in storage—cries for days—I do have a pretty hefty book collection (especially if you count the books I have on my Kindle!) and I wanted to provide you lovely gems with my own personal beliefs on what every bookshelf should contain no matter your preference of reading genres.

I promise this wont be daunting in any way and you might already have a lot of the following in your bookshelf

 

The Five Must Haves:

1. Light and easy… every bookshelf should have at least one if not more (I choose more) light and easy read book. My personal favorite genre for this is Young Adult Fiction. Light and easy books are the best type of book to just toss in your bag and take with you wherever you go. Some examples that happen to be on my shelf:

Eleanor & Park, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, An Abundance of Katherines, Looking for Alaska, and We Were Liars.

2. Classics… I know, I know, classics usually receive a rap of being the type of book that people like to talk about reading but never actually read. Personally some of my favorite books are classics however, and maybe this is because I didn’t get to read the light and easy category in high school but instead I was reading “real literature” as one of my English teachers so kindly put it. They take your mind to a different kind of place. I don’t own nearly as many classics as I do light and easy books but will provide more examples simply because classics aren’t as warmly loved by the masses these days…

The Sound and the Fury, As I Lay Dying, The Great Gatsby, Lolita, The Catcher in the Rye, Wuthering Heights, The Beautiful and Damned, Animal Farm, The Little Prince, Anna Karenina, etc.

3. Series… Who doesn’t love a series they can just dive into? They pretty much are the best set up for reading because if you are like me, there are always those books that as soon as you get to the end… you want—no, need—more of the story. Well, fear not, because if it is a series… ON TO THE NEXT. Though, total downside is when you finish the series. Do not judge me for some of these because even Twilight was popular once…..

Harry Potter series, A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Lunar Chronicles, Pretty Little Liars, Twilight Saga, and The Lord of the Rings

4. Plays… So some of you might end up leaving this off… which I totally won’t judge you for… but I was a theater kid in high school and there is something pretty relaxing to me about reading plays. It truly is like putting on a movie in your head. Some of the plays I own copies of and love are

 Ghosts, Tartuffe, Hamlet, Romeo & Juliet, Our Town, The Taming of the Shrew,

5. Memoirs/biographies… I personally prefer memoirs more than biographies but they are both very similar, I only recently got into reading memoirs and actually only own three if you include one that I bought my mom and am welcome to read whenever since I live with her. Because of this, I will include some memoirs that are on my wish list as well.

Bossypants (Tina Fey), Seriously… I’m Kidding (Ellen DeGeneres), The Andy Cohen Diaries: A Deep Look at a Shallow Year (Andy Cohen), Home: A Memoir of My Early Years (Julie Andrews), Yes Please (Amy Poehler), and Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) (Mindy Kaling)

Obviously with a list such as this one, there is plenty of wiggle room to pick the specific books of your choice. However, as an avid reader I do believe it is important for a bookshelf to be well-rounded! Plus, with the holiday season in full swing (Happy Hanukkah to my celebrating readers!!!) books are always a must for any wish list!

 

Happy reading, stay cozy and be well. tumblr_lk4vfuWL8v1qijadwo1_100

alex

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

