Make Up Essentials for Busy Ladies

Untitled
look, it’s my face! wearing all the make-up I ramble on about in this post!

For all you super busy ladies with barely any time for yourself, you know how hard it is to drag yourself out of bed in the morning & try to look presentable so as not to scare a passerby. I’m a firm believer of 5 more minutes of sleep will definitely make a difference. Spoiler: it doesn’t. Alex gave you a peek into her face regimen which I highly recommend you check out if you haven’t already.  Trust me when I say that anti-wrinkle cream will CHANGE YOUR LIFE, especially if you have bags under your eyes or dry/oily combo skin like I do.

So once you cleanse your face, it’s time to put  make-up on usually. If you’re one of those ladies that can roll without makeup & not have everyone ask “Are you feeling okay today?”, I’m jealous of you. Since I do my makeup in less than 7 minutes, I thought I’d share my favorite, easy to use products with you busy ladies. None of that concealer, contouring, eye primer, lip liner here….. Just enough to make you look awake for that 8am meeting and last long enough for that impromptu 10pm grocery store run because it’s the only time you have to stock the fridge for the next 3 weeks (I know I’m not the only one….)

face
BB/CC cream & powder

If you have bothersome skin like me, you usually want to use some sort of foundation/tinted cream to even out those blemishes or sunspots. After applying my morning facial lotion, I apply Yes To Grapefruit CC Cream. It comes in 2 shades, light & light-medium. Not only does your face now smell like grapefruit (definitely wakes you up), but now your face has a more even tone! Plus there is SPF. What a win-win.

Once your entire face is “done”, go ahead & dust your face with a powder. I currently use Fit Me! by Maybelline. I use the matte & poreless one due to my oily skin, but the set & smooth works great too for those with less oily skin. Do not use the sponge they give you because it lays on too thick of a layer. Rather, grab a blush brush or something big & fluffy to dust the powder on!

eyes
eye shadow & mascara

I probably spend the most time on my eyes. I usually start off with a neutral eye shadow, unless I’m feeling daring, then maybe I’ll venture into a rust or a light mauve, but let’s be real…. that never happens. The best eye shadow that lasts me ALL DAY (I’m talking, 18 hour days) is MAC eye shadow. Unfortunately, it’s a little more on the pricey side so I rarely use mine for days when I’m just running errands or whatever. Instead, I used E.L.F eye shadow which lasts surprisingly longer than you would think (without all that fancy shmancy eye primer stuff). I personally use this palette because I am a very neutral person. Plus, there’s black shadow which I use for eyeliner.

That’s right, I use eye shadow as my eye liner. I tried liquid eye liner once….. That’s it. That’s my story. I used it once & never again. I tried eye liner pencils, but they looked too early 2000s for me (everyone was a scene kid, ok?). I played around one day & loved the subtly of dark eye shadow as a liner. I usually grab this brush to apply the eye shadow on my upper lid. I only have like 3 make up brushes & this was the sturdiest of them all. I dab the tip of the brush in the black eye shadow then I line my upper lid (never the bottom). Easy peasy!

If there is any product I actually cared about it would be mascara. If I could only use one make-up product, it would be mascara. I think I’ve tried every mascara in Target & I currently am in love with Miss Manga Mascara. This is the easiest mascara to put on & even if you’re in a hurry, it goes on perfectly.

eyes
tinted lip balm

Moving from the humid state of Florida to the less humid state of North Carolina has dried my lips out considerably. I needed something that would keep my lips healthy but add a little color. I stumbled upon Nivea’s Care & Color and it is perfect. With one swipe you get the protection as well as the color, a perfect product to have with you at all times on the go. Nothing brightens up a face than fresh lip color!

 

make up

Just remember, everyone reacts differently to products, especially if used on sensitive areas like the eyes, lips, & face. What may work for my skin may not work for yours so always test out a product before you use it!

 

signature

One thought on “Make Up Essentials for Busy Ladies

Leave a Reply

