Books I Read This Month – August

monthly reads

So August was a little less crazy & I managed to finish more than one book this month! Okay so I only finished two, but I blame that on my night class which has basically sucked all of my reading time out of my day ^.^

1. It’s Kind of a Funny Story, Ned Vizzini – This book was surprisingly amazing. If you read my about me section, you know I worked with adults & children in psychiatric settings so I was curious to see another’s perspective of such an environment. Usually these novels about someone in a psych ward is so far from the truth it’s almost embarrassing, but this one was pretty spot on… probably because the author actually wrote this after his own experience which I found fascinating. This novel is an easy read, very eye-opening, and ended in a way that made you smile. This book was definitely a good weekend read! While some parts hit home a little too close, I thought this novel was such a joy to read. Also, apparently they made a movie based on this book so I think I might go check it out….

2. Zoo, James Patterson – Great idea, ridiculous writing… as in this entire book sounded like a 2nd grader wrote it. The idea of animals attacking humans is what drew me to pick up this book. However, just a few chapters in & I was smacked in the face with this description of the lion, “His powerful chest rises and falls under his almost strawberry blond mane. His dusky amber eyes narrow, focused on the distance. he opens his mouth slightly, whiskers tingling as he scents the dry wind”. I’m sorry, but I could not get over how just god awful the writing was and it was all downhill from there. Maybe I’m just snobby when it comes to descriptive terminology but almost strawberry blond mane should never actually be written in any literature. I won’t even touch on the sad science in this book…. *spoiler* pheromones… really?

3 thoughts on “Books I Read This Month – August

  1. Regarding Zoo – the whole ghost-writer thing makes me not surprised. Don’t you wonder sometimes how carefully they screen for their ghost-writers? Seems likes its just “Oh, here’s a plot. Get whoever to write it.” /sigh

    Like

    1. It’s such a shame. It could have been so good. I know some think it is, but mind you I grew up reading Tolkien and C.S. Lewis so maybe I’m not the best person to judge Patterson-esque novels. ^.^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

