What’s in a name?

I’m terrible at creating names for things like my Sims or blogs. When I decided to return to blogging, I really wanted to stick with it and wanted a name I wouldn’t feel weird when telling people. I just happened to be rereading one of my favorite chapters in the book of Matthew, Chapter 5.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
4 Blessed are those who mourn,
For they shall be comforted.
5 Blessed are the meek,
For they shall inherit the earth.
6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
For they shall be filled.
7 Blessed are the merciful,
For they shall obtain mercy.
8 Blessed are the pure in heart,
For they shall see God.
9 Blessed are the peacemakers,
For they shall be called sons of God.
10 Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,
For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Last year during BSF (bible study fellowship) we studied the book of Matthew. I remember one of the questions was to describe which beatitude we wanted to “improve” on. Of course we all need to constantly work towards perfecting all of these, but I remember writing down “meek” and “merciful”. For personal reasons I shall not bore you with, I felt the need to be a gentler, kinder, reliever of unpleasantness. Over the past year or so, I have embarked on many life adventures from working directly with children who have suffered verbal, emotional, & physical abuse to working at the library where I encounter people who have lost everything except their hope. I have seen how a little bit of kindness and understanding can go a long way, especially those who are suffering. We can demonstrate these attributes in the people we meet, the people we serve, the animals we see, the Earth we inhabit. I chose the blog name Meek & Merciful as a constant reminder to myself, a reminder to be gentle, to be kind, to always aim to relieve another’s pain (appropriate since I’m now in nursing school, right?). So while the name was created for personal reasons, this blog –I hope– will reflect those beatitudes (as well as delicious recipes, fun knitting patterns, weird yoga positions, & tough book reviews).

Thank you for embarking on one of my many adventures!

signature

One thought on “What’s in a name?

  1. I love this. It is very important yo remember our own areas of weakness in order to improve. I have never looked at the Beatitudes as a list of virtues. Thank you for the new perspective!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

